MRJ Chalice

The Model Railway Journal endowed the MRJ Chalice to mark the Society's tenth anniversary in 1986 and it is awarded annually at Scaleforum to the model which, in the judges opinion, most represents excellence in 4mm scale modelling and best exemplifies the objects and ideals of the Society.

Year Awarded to For
1986 John Forster Derby Lightweight DMU
1987 Steve Lee 'Grafton Junction' layout
1988 Andrew Wiles GWR 850 class 0-6-0ST Locomotive
1989 Martin Finney GWR 4-4-0 'Pershore plum' Locomotive
1990 Geoff Kent Buildings demonstration
1991 Peter Squibb GWR signal with route indicator
1992 John Watson 'Kenton' layout
1993 Unknown  
1994 David Holt WD 2-8-0 Locomotive
1995 John Darch Brinkley Goods Shed
1996 Geraint Hughes 'Middlepeak Wharf' layout
1997 Tim Shackleton Edge Hill Lt Rly No.1
1998 David Barrett MSWJR cottages on 'Chiseldon'
1999 Graham Seed GWR 45xx Locomotive
2000 Steve Hall 'Halifax King Cross' layout
2001 Vincent de Bode 'Flintfield' layout
2002 Gareth Floyd Boatyard on Combe Mellin
2003 Geoff Kent Black Lion Crossing Box
2004 John H Wright Federal Street (P87)
2005 Chris Challis Organising the Scalefour Layout Challenge
2006 Steffan Lewis Maindee East Engine Shed
2007 Paul Holmes Double Fairlie Loco (James Spooner).
2008 John Darch Clinkerford
2009 East of Scotland Area Group Burntisland
2010 Mark Tatlow Portchullin
2011 Martin Finney LSWR T14 No 462
2012 Ray Warner Severn Bridge at Shrewsbury Station
2013 Mike Spencer Western Region Signal Box, installed on Allt-Y-Graban
2014 Crewe Area Group Knutsford East
2015 Jonathan Hughes Deltic Locomotive
2016 Andy Gannon Laser cut coaching stock
2017 Howard Bolton Minories
2018 Gavin Clark Kerrinhead
2019 Anonymous GWR Duke Class Locomotive
2020 Show cancelled
2021 Not awarded at the virtual show
2022 David Hewitt Market Bosworth
2023 Not awarded